St. Peter’s was built in 1837, with a chancel extension in the 1870s and it is an interesting example of the typical early Victorian ‘barn’ churches.
Both the church and the wall ramp that lead up to it are listed Grade 2 buildings and form an important architectural focus on Church Bay.
There is a very interesting and unusual stained-glass east window which may be by Henry Hughes.
The Church has a carillion, a chime of ten bells in the key of A flat, specially commissioned to enable the well-known folk tune ‘The Bells of Aberdyfi’ to be played. It was installed in September 1936. It is played regularly before Sunday services.
Anyone interested in learning to play the carillion should call in one Sunday after the service. It really is very simple and no knowledge or experience of bell ringing is required.
Holy Eucharist is celebrated every Sunday starting at 10 am. On the first Sunday each month the service takes the form of a Family Service.
Visitors to Aberdyfi are most welcome and will find the bi-lingual service a most interesting and enhancing experience.
During the school summer holidays Ecumenical services are held on the Wharf each Sunday evening starting at 6.00pm.
FRIENDS OF ST PETER'S
On Thursday 21st July we launched our Friends scheme.
Created to muster support for help in maintaining this valuable village asset amongst the wider community. Volunteers offered help with regular tasks such as flowers, cleaning the building and gardening and specific tasks such as fundraising, DIY and planning applications.
If you would like to join us or find out more contact Churchwarden David Rynn at email@example.com or 01654 767935
This page is maintained directly by St Peters Church. Aberdyfi.com are not responsible for the accuracy of content.
Page last updated: